US Open men stars who wrote the epic in new York

US Open men stars who wrote the epic in new York
© Matthew Stockman / Staff Getty Images Sport

Finally the eagerly awaited US Open 2023 is about to start. Many men’s tennis stars will compete for the final victory in Flushing Meadows: Carlos Alcaraz, Novak Djokovic, Daniil Medvedev and Jannik Sinner are the favorites for the final victory.But here are the tennis players who wrote the history of the tournament:Richard Sears was the first star of the US Open, when the tournament was still called U.S.

National Championships, and he won the event for 7 consecutive years. The following seasons saw the emergence of champions such as Oliver Campbell (3 titles), Robert Wrenn (4 titles) and Malcolm Whitman (3 titles).Until 1903 there were only American champions, before the hegemony was interrupted by the British Lawrence Doherty.

Williams Learned preceded the arrival of Bill Tilden (both winners of 7 titles), before and after the First World War.The Frenchmen stopped the American domination after the War; before Renè Lacoste (2 times) then Henri Cochet won the title.

Fred Perry (3 titles) preceded Don Budge, Bobby Riggs, Jack Kramer and Pancho Gonzales, before the Australian domination. In 70s and the end of the 80s, the tournament was American rulers, John McEnroe, winner of 4 titles, Jimmy Connors, winner of 4 titles, and Ivan Lendl, winner of three titles.

The 90s were the years of the great rivalry between Pete Sampras and Andre Agassi, who won 6 titles (4 Sampras and 2 Agassi), but also by the win of Stefan Edberg (3) and Patrick Rafter (2).The Swiss legend Roger Federer win the title for five consecutive seasons, the last few years have marked the victories of Rafael Nadal and Novak Djokovic (both 3 times champions), and the triumphs of some outsiders (like Marin Cilic, Stan Wawrinka and Juan Martin del Potro), who were able to do a great goal in the era dominated by the Big Theree.

Andy Murray in 2012, was the first British tennis player since Fred Perry to win a Slam Title. Daniil Medvedev won the title, a Slam won also by Domink Thiem. Last season, Carlos Alcaraz rewrote tennis history, by beating Casper Ruud and winning his first Slam at 19 years old.

Source link:




‘We’re all going to get sacked’

Kate Abdo hilariously forgot what broadcaster she worked for at the San Siro, causing Jamie Carragher to joke: ‘We’re all going to get...

6 Money-Saving Strategies to Comply with Key Rules and Regs

Opinions expressed by Entrepreneur contributors are their own. A business that can't...

3 Ways Small Businesses Can Use AI to Drive Growth

For businesses looking to optimize their operations and enhance...

Is SEO in 2023 Still Worth It?

Opinions expressed by Entrepreneur contributors are their own. This story originally appeared...

Trump Indictment Draws Fresh Wave Of Pushback, Concern

By Casey Harper (The Center Square) Former President Donald Trump faces new charges related to his role in protesting the 2020 presidential election results,...